Monmouth Constituency Representatives

The Monmouth constituency is one of eight constituencies covering the preserved county of Gwent. It is considered as a rural constituency with many small towns and villages lying within its boundaries. The major towns of the constituency are Abergavenny, Chepstow, Monmouth and Usk; and covers most of current local authority of Monmouthshire, and a small part of the local authority of Torfaen.

The Westminster seat has existed under its current form since 1918 and has been represented by both Conservative and Labour MPs. Since the creation of the Assembly, Monmouth has been represented only by Conservative Assembly Members, the only seat in Wales which can make this claim.

The constituency consists of:

The County of Monmouthshire electoral divisions: Caerwent, Cantref, Castle, Croesonen, Crucorney, Devauden, Dixton with Osbaston, Drybridge, Goytre Fawr, Grofield, Lansdown, Larkfield, Llanbadoc, Llanelly Hill, Llanfoist Fawr, Llangybi Fawr, Llanover, Llantilio Crossenny, Llanwenarth Ultra, Mardy, Mitchel Troy, Overmonnow, Priory, Raglan, St Arvans, St Christopher’s, St Kingsmark, St Mary’s, Shirenewton, Thornwell, Trellech United, Usk and Wyesham.

The County Borough of Torfaen electoral divisions: Croesyceiliog North, Croesyceiliog South, Llanyrafon East and Ponthir and Llanyrafon West.


Election ~ Member of Parliament ~ Party

1918 Leolin Forestier-Walker, Conservative

1934 by-election John Herbert, Conservative

1939 by-election Leslie Pym, Conservative

1945 by-election Peter Thorneycroft, Conservative

1966 Donald Anderson, Labour

1970 Sir John Stradling Thomas, Conservative

1991 by-election Huw Edwards, Labour

1992 Roger Evans, Conservative

1997 Huw Edwards, Labour

2005 – present David T.C. Davies, Conservative


Election ~ Assembly Member / Member of the Senedd ~ Party

1999 David T.C. Davies, Conservative

2007 – present Nicholas Ramsay, Conservative (Independent from January 2020)

There is a total of 67,094 electors.

The constituency has been represented by David T C Davies MP since the 2005 General Election (House of Commons, Westminster); and by Nick Ramsay AM since the 2007 Assembly Election (National Assembly for Wales, Cardiff).