History of the Association

The Monmouth constituency was created for the 1918 general election, and was a creation of the Representation of the People Act 1918 as one of six constituencies covering the historic county of Monmouthshire. Prior to the 1918 election the county had been covered, nominally, by the county constituencies of Northern Monmouthshire, Southern Monmouthshire, and Western Monmouthshire, and the Monmouth Boroughs borough constituency. By 1918, however, administrative county boundaries were out of alignment with constituency boundaries. The new constituency boundaries took account of the new local government boundaries.

The Officers of the Association are individually elected by members of the Association annually at the Annual General Meeting of the Association (usually held before April) or, if a Special General Meeting is called pursuant to a resolution of the Board of the Party in accordance with the provisions of Paragraph 15 of Schedule 6, at that Special General Meeting.


2019- Cllr. Christopher Edwards

2016-2019 Mr. Barrie O’Keefe

2015-2016 Mr. Nicholas Hacket Pain

2012-2015 Mr. Christopher Titchener

2009-2012 Mr. Thomas Lowes

2006-2009 Mr. Nicholas Hacket Pain

2003-2006 Mr. Martyn Evans

2000-2003 Mr. Neville Waters MBE JP DL

1997-2000 County Cllr. Brian Hood MBE

1994-1997 Mr. Maurice Trumper OBE


2020- Mr. Nicholas Hacket Pain

2019 (to Jan) Mr. Mark Brown

2016-2019 Cllr. Christopher Edwards

2012-2016 Mr. Barrie O’Keefe

2012 (to Sept) Mr. Roy Garner

2009-2012 Mr. Christopher Titchener

2006-2009 Mr. Thomas Lowes

2003-2006 Mr. Nicholas Hacket Pain

2000-2003 Mr. Martyn Evans

1997-2000 Mr. Neville Waters MBE JP DL

1994-1997 County Cllr. Brian Hood MBE

1991-1994 Mr. Maurice Trumper OBE

1988-1991 County Cllr. John Parker

1984-1987 Mrs Muriel Rogers MBE

1981-1984 Miss Rosemary Griffiths